Review: The Companions: The Sundering, Book I

The Companions by R.A. Salvatore

The Companions, by R.A. Salvatore, is the first book in a new series from Forgotten Realms called The Sundering. Each book is penned by a different author and will explore the events of the Sundering from various points of view. Salvatore’s entry continues the story of Drizzt Do’Urden and the title is a call to hearts, or to be slightly more (or less) dramatic, an answer to prayers.

The book opens with a glimpse of Drizzt, whose fate at the end of The Last Threshold (Book XXIII, Neverwinter Saga, Book IV) was uncertain. He is at Bruenor’s Climb, a lone mountain in the middle of Icewind Dale that is meaningful to the Companions. The peak has marked many beginnings. We continue to hear from Drizzt throughout the novel, in the usual series of thought-provoking journal entries. I’ve come to think of them as letters to the reader, and those included in The Companions are amongst the most stirring. He reflects on his life and the choices he has made, his friends and companions, the meaning of love, honour and loyalty. There is a sense Drizzt is preparing himself for the inevitable and that urgency underscores the journeys of the Companions as they embark on a quest unlike any other.

Yes, I said the Companions.

Continue reading “Review: The Companions: The Sundering, Book I”

The Transitions Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore

In preparation for R.A. Salvatore’s upcoming release, The Companions (Book one of The Sundering), I dove back into the Legend of Drizzt where I had left off a few years ago, picking up The Pirate King (Transitions II) and reading through to the end of The Ghost King (Transitions III). The Transitions Trilogy (which began with The Orc King) spells the end of an era in a legend that spans some twenty five books. It’s hard to read (on an emotional level), which is why I put down The Pirate King halfway through. But with the promise of R.A. Salvatore’s new title, I took a deep breath, grabbed a box of tissues and continued on.

If you have not read the trilogy, beware the spoilers below. I will try to make them vague, but as revealed in the opening of the first volume, R.A. Salvatore made a deliberate choice in naming these three books the Transitions Trilogy.

Companions of the Hall

Continue reading “The Transitions Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore”